13th Floor, Bliss and Musings


Whoa! I’ve been on tall buildings and getting on elevators since 1994 (that’s when i came to the big city a.k.a. urban jungle) but I can’t quite recall a time when I was on a building’s 13th floor. I’ve been racking my brains trying to remember when I was on the traditionally ill-omened building floor but I can’t seem to place my fingers on a single instance. I really can’t. I dunno if this is another of my premature geriatric moments  but If I’m right, then this afternoon was the first. Unlike my other first, this one lasted longer than a few minutes and I didn’t sweat profusely despite being on a building without any central cooling system.  Come to think of it, the building prides itself of being a skyscraper. Tsk tsk, the tenants are obviously not getting their money’s worth. But that’s for another blog. I’m getting off tangent.

At exactly 4pm on January 21,  I was at the One Executive Plaza at West Avenue in Quezon City. There were no Sadako but I had the misfortune of meeting a potential business partner from Mainland China who turned out to be full of hot air. A braggadocio straight out of Edmund Spenser’s ‘The Faerie Quenne’.    Pure and unadulterated man made out of hot gas.

Coming out of the meeting, I was tempted to prick him with a pointed needle. Too bad I had none at hand at the time. Otherwise, he would have fizzled out.

Bah humbug.

5 responses to “13th Floor, Bliss and Musings

  1. Wahahah! Let me guess, that China man never uses any elevator…his over-inflated ego must have taken him to great heights…

    But you should still be thankful sir, at least that bad chinese gas did not fizzle out somewhere down under, that could have been a great disaster, your nose would have rebelled.

  2. Come to think of it, your prospective business partner could have been the central cooling system the building you’ve just described might have use for. It’s just that God – or is it fate? – has a wacky sense of humor when He sent this man from China in your direction.

    • Then again, I have always been a firm believer in the principle of sufficient reason. Though this time, I’ve yet to read the tea leaves to ferret out what this particular frustrating experience’s supposed rational root. Baah, I need a little bit of patience. I guess.

      By the way, God and fate? Sounds apt for a next blog. Thanks mucho.

Leave a comment